Harckham: Statement on Biden’s Approval of Disaster Declarations for Eight NY Counties

New York State Senator Pete Harckham released the following statement yesterday concerning President Joe Biden’s approval of disaster declarations for eight New York counties:

“I appreciate President Biden’s declaration of several New York counties, including Putnam and Rockland, as major disaster areas following the catastrophic storm two weeks ago; this will help reimburse local governments for their emergency responses and make homeowners and small businesses eligible for relief assistance. I will continue, however, to press for similar consideration for Westchester County.”

On Monday, NY Governor Kathy Hochul announced that President Biden has approved her request for a Major Disaster Declaration to provide federal assistance to communities impacted by flooding from heavy rainstorms across much of Upstate New York. The declaration releases critical federal assistance to support recovery and reconstruction efforts in Clinton, Dutchess, Essex, Hamilton, Ontario, Orange, Putnam and Rockland counties.

"After devastating floods caused extreme damage across Upstate New York this month, I'm thankful President Biden has approved my request for a Major Disaster Declaration," Governor Hochul said. "My administration will work directly with FEMA in the coming weeks to ensure our local government partners receive the critical funding they need to begin the recovery and rebuilding process."

A Major Disaster Declaration secures financial assistance from the federal government, primarily through FEMA's Public Assistance Program, to provide funding to local governments, tribes and eligible non-profits for debris removal, protective measures, and repairs to buildings and infrastructure, including roads, bridges, water and wastewater treatment facilities, critical infrastructure sites, schools, parks and other facilities.


Pete Harckham represents the 40th Senate District, which includes the towns of Carmel, Kent, Patterson and Southeast, and the village of Brewster in Putnam County; the town of Stony Point in Rockland County; and the city of Peekskill, the towns of Bedford, Cortlandt, Lewisboro, New Castle, North Salem, Ossining, Somers and Yorktown, the town/village of Mount Kisco, and the villages of Briarcliff Manor, Buchanan, Croton-on-Hudson and Ossining in Westchester County.

Submitted by Brewster, NY

Become a Local Voice in Your Community!

HamletHub invites you to contribute stories, events, and more to keep your neighbors informed and connected.

Read Next