HEADLINES

NASA Invites Public to Share Excitement of Tomorrow morning's DART Launch!

Can we change the motion of an asteroid? Our Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) mission is set to be the first to try! DART is scheduled to launch no earlier than 1:21 a.m. EST Wednesday, Nov. 24 (10:21 p.m. PST Tuesday, Nov. 23) on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket from Vandenberg Space Force Base in California.
 
The DART mission is a test of technology to determine whether sending a large, high-speed spacecraft to deliberately collide with an asteroid in space could change its motion. DART’s target asteroid does not pose a threat to Earth, either before or after DART’s impact.

How to Watch – The countdown commentary and launch broadcast will begin at 12:30 a.m. EST Wednesday, Nov. 24 (9:30 p.m. PST Tuesday, Nov. 23), airing on NASA Television and NASA.gov as well as YouTubeTwitterFacebookTwitchDailymotion, and NASA’s app.

Be Our Guest – Register to attend the launch virtually or RSVP to our Facebook event. Our virtual guest program for this launch includes curated launch resources, a behind-the-scenes look at the mission, and a virtual guest passport stamp post-launch.

NASA Science Live – On Tuesday, Nov. 23 at 4 p.m. EST (1 p.m. EST), experts will discuss the DART mission and the agency’s efforts in planetary defense. Members of the public are encouraged to participate by submitting questions in the comment section of the streams, or by posting them on social media with the hashtag #AskNASA. This event will stream live on NASA’s FacebookTwitter and YouTube channels.

Planetary Defenders Campaign – We want YOU to become a Planetary Defender! Take our planetary defense quiz to earn your planetary defender certificate, which you can download or print, as well as a digital badge to share on social media using the hashtag #PlanetaryDefender.

 

Subscribe

Follow Carmel HamletHub