Warde & Ludlowe Among CT High Schools Tapped for College Success Award

Fairfield, CT - First Selectman Mike Tetreau announced that Fairfield Warde High School (FWHS) and Fairfield Ludlowe High School (FLHS) are among the State’s 41 high schools to win the 2019 College Success Award by GreatSchools, a national nonprofit that provides information on educational opportunities to parents.

The Award recognizes 1,722 schools across 25 states that have a successful track record of graduating students who later enroll in two or four-year college, are ready for college-level coursework, and persist on to their second year.

The recent release of the results for the State’s Next Generation Accountability System for 2017-2018 show that the number of students demonstrating college and career readiness increased for the second year in a row. The system includes two indicators that measure students’ preparation for postsecondary and career readiness. One indicator evaluates whether students in grades 11 and 12 have participated in coursework during high school that prepares them for success in college and/or careers. Another indicator evaluates whether students in grades 11 and 12 have attained benchmark scores on at least one of the most prevalent college/career readiness exams.

FWHS Headmaster David Ebling stated, “We are very proud of our students for meeting the demands of a rigorous curriculum during their high school years. The skills embedded in our Vision of the Graduate for all K-12 Fairfield students prepares them for success in colleges and careers. This recognition is well-deserved for the students, faculty and parents of our entire district. Every day we come to our schools surrounded by outstanding educators, wonderful students, and supportive parents all doing great work.”

FLHS Headmaster Greg Hatzis said, “The Town of Fairfield is very supportive of the education system, and that shows through the excellent teaching, achievement results, and the well-rounded opportunities available to our students.”

First Selectman Mike Tetreau stated, “Congratulations to our two outstanding high schools for receiving this top honor! Fairfield is so proud of our students whose top-notch education will prepare them with the knowledge and skills to be college-ready, successful in their careers and productive members of society. I want to recognize Headmasters Hatzis and Ebling for their outstanding leadership and guidance and also thank all those in our school community who contribute to Fairfield having one of the best school systems in the country.”

The high schools in Connecticut that have won the GreatSchools 2019 College Success Award include:

Avon: Avon High School 
Berlin: Berlin High School 
Bethany-Orange-Woodbridge: Amity Regional High School 
Bolton: Bolton High School 
Brookfield: Brookfield High School 
Cheshire: Cheshire High School 
Darien: Darien High School 
East Hartford: Connecticut IB Academy 
East Lyme: East Lyme High School 
Fairfield: Fairfield Ludlowe High School 
Fairfield: Fairfield Warde High School 

Farmington: Farmington High School 
Glastonbury: Glastonbury High School 
Granby: Granby Memorial High School 
Greenwich: Greenwich High School 
Groton: Marine Science Magnet High School Of Southeastern Connecticut 
Guilford: Guilford High School 
Hartford: University High School of Science and Engineering 
Lyme-Old Lyme: Lyme-Old Lyme High School 
Madison: Daniel Hand High School 
Milford: Joseph A. Foran High School 
Monroe: Masuk High School 
New Canaan: New Canaan High School 
New Haven: Amistad High School 
North Haven: North Haven High School 
Old Saybrook: Old Saybrook Senior High School 
Redding: Joel Barlow High School 
Ridgefield: Ridgefield High School 
Rocky Hill: Rocky Hill High School 
Seymour: Seymour High School 
Simsbury: Simsbury High School 
South Windsor: South Windsor High School 
Stamford: The Academy Of Information Technology 
Trumbull: Trumbull High School 
Waterbury: Waterbury Arts Magnet School 
West Hartford: Conard High School 
West Hartford: Hall High School 
Weston: Weston High School 
Westport: Staples High School 
Wilton: Wilton High School 
Wolcott: Wolcott High School

Connecticut State Department of Education Commissioner Dianna Wentzell said, “Congratulations to these Connecticut high schools for adopting the practices necessary to prepare their students to graduate, attend college and perform and achieve at the college level. Together, by providing the necessary student supports and increasing student access to rigorous coursework for all students, we are delivering on our promise of equity and excellence for all Connecticut students and positioning them for success in college, career and life.” 

The photo, taken in front of the Old Town Hall on the historic town green, shows, l:r FLHS Headmaster Greg Hatzis, BOE Chair Christine Vitale, First Selectman Mike Tetreau (a graduate of Roger Ludlowe whose father, the late Fern Tetreau, taught at Andrew Warde) and FWHS Headmaster David Ebling.


Follow Fairfield HamletHub