Faxon Law New Haven 20K Elite Field Best Yet!

The 2023 Faxon Law New Haven Road Race, again hosting the USATF 20K Championships, boasts a number of the Country’s top runners. With a prize purse of nearly $40,000, this year’s field features seven Olympians, four past 20K Champions and fastest U.S. female marathoner ever.
The event takes place on Labor Day, September 4 on the New Haven Green. The Faxon Law New Haven Road Race has hosted the 20K National Championship since 1992.

This year’s race features the best women’s field in the event’s history.  Providence’s Emily Sisson is the women’s favorite and set the U.S. Marathon record in 2022 Chicago Marathon.  In the 2021 Olympics she competed in the 10,000 meter race.  Flagstaff’s Aliphine Tuliamuk (2021 U.S. Marathon Olympian and 2016 New Haven 20K Champ) is expected to challenge Sisson.  Michigan’s Des Linden (2018 Boston Marathon champ and 2-time Olympian) and Emily Durgin (UCONN grad and 3rd in the 2021 Faxon Law 20K) are expected to challenge for the top spot.  Flagstaff’s Kellyn Taylor and Colorado’s Edna Kurgat have won U.S. Championships this year and are also expected finish near the top.  2021 Olympic Marathon Bronze Medalist, Molly Seidel, is coming back from some injuries and hopes to return world class form.

Last year’s winner, Utah’s Conner Mantz, is in good form and is the favorite to win the men’s race.  Leonard Korir (Colorado), 2016, 2018, 2019 Faxon Law 20K Champion and U.S. Olympian (2016), is expected to challenge Mantz.  Utah’s Jared Ward and Clayton Young are also expected to challenge for the top spot.  Ward won the 20K in 2015 and represented the USA in the 2016 Olympic Marathon.  Young has been running well and was the top American finisher at this month’s Falmouth Road Race.

The top male and female 20K finishers will receive the Ryan Shay Memorial Award. Ryan Shay, 2004 New Haven 20K Champion, passed away while running the 2008 Olympic Marathon Trials in New York City. The award is in recognition of Ryan’s commitment and dedication to the sport, as well as his longtime support of the New Haven Road Race. In addition to his first-place finish, Ryan competed in the event from 2004-2007.

The event’s major sponsors include, Faxon Law Group, Avelo Airlines, McDermott Lexus, AVANGRID, Town Fair Tire, Corsair, Connecticut Orthopaedics and the City of New Haven.  To learn more about the event or to register, visit www.newhavenroadrace.org. Early registration is encouraged and this year the event is limited to 4,500 entrants!


Follow Milford HamletHub