New Canaan Country School Celebrates Eighth Graders

At New Canaan Country School’s Celebration of Eighth Graders, Tuesday, June 15, Head of Upper School Karl Palmgren recognized the 62 members of the Class of 2022 as “independent, self-motivated, confident, good communicators, hard workers, resilient, empathetic, joyful and collaborative.” 

Mr. Palmgren noted the class’ ability to coalesce when under pressure, forming a stronger whole. He went on to mention the concept of an arch in its relation to this year: “The way to strengthen an arch is to put weight on it, because it binds the stones together, and only with tension does it hold weight. This year has bound this group together in so many ways, and there is a high tensile strength to that cohesion. So regardless of where you go for ninth grade, look around, this is your home, these are your people and we couldn’t be prouder of you. We only ask that you continue to live by and commit yourself to those shared aspirations and the core values you have learned here at Country School, those of courage, curiosity, community and kindness.” 

Eighth Grader Ifeanyi Ndokwu of Stamford delivered the Class Reflection. “No matter how prepared you may be, life will always find something new to throw at you, and after 4 years I’ve seen problems stretching from bad grades to frustrating losses and especially embarrassing moments. I’ve evolved and become a better version of myself every time.”

Members of the eighth grade Class of 2022 include:

Peyton Ambrose, Leena Aronson, Penelope Arredondo, Katelyn Barr, Emily Behr, Anne Boggess, Brendan Buda, Emma Cannon, Sabina Cherry, Rigsbee Conze, Viola Cullen, Caroline DiBiasio, Eleanor duPont, Courtney Edwards, Regan Famigletti, John Fichthorn, Aoife Flannagan, Joshua Fleuriot, Matthew Fry, Eloise Galante, Andrew Gallagher, Skyler Gendason, Benjamin Ghriskey, Lila Gizzie, Niall Glynn, Oliver Golden, Elizabeth Hall, Katherine Hanson, Ann Harrigan, Dominic Hartmann, Ellie Israelov, Oliver Johnson, Sebastian Kelsey, Lyla Koch, Brandon Krongard, Ella Kurtz, Penelope Legnani, Margaret Lewis, Colin Mackey, Daniel Marin, Connor McNamara, Mark McNamara, Justin Mims, Kieran Mohindra-Green, John Nally, Ifeanyichukwu Ndokwu, Riley Newport, Ambika Nott, Brodie O'Connor, Ana Petricone, Morgan Powell, Chandeny Rahman, Matthew Rivera, Ellie Rosolen, Bray Rudd, Dario Sanon, Christopher Santa, Isabella Saracino, Matthew Schell, Margaret Seide, Alexandra Sellschop and Alex Thiersant.

While 27 members of the class plan to return for ninth grade, 35 members of the class of 2022 will depart for the following secondary schools:

Brien McMahon High School, Choate Rosemary Hall, Darien High School, Greens Farms Academy, Greenwich Academy, Greenwich Country Day School, Hopkins School, The Hotchkiss School, IMG Academy (FL), Kent School, The Lawrenceville School, New Canaan High School, Northfield Mount Hermon School, Phillips Academy Andover, Rye Country Day School, Sacred Heart Greenwich, St. Luke's School, St. Stephen's Episcopal School (TX), Suffield Academy and The Taft School.




Follow New Canaan HamletHub