Candidates for Town Offices Endorsed

On Thursday, July 20, both the Republicans and the Democrats in the town of Norfolk met at Town Hall to endorse their respective candidates for municipal office for the election to be held in November.  

With Susan Dyer retiring this term as First Selectman, the field opened up and this year it will be a contested race.  Democrats nominated Matthew Riiska from the caucus floor and endorsed him as their candidate for first selectman, defeating long-term selectman Leo Colwell, Jr., who had been the nominated choice of the Democratic Town Committee.  

Riiska will face off against Republican William Reudgen, who was nominated by the Republican Town Committee and unanimously endorsed.

Current First Selectman Susan Dyer was endorsed by the Democrats to run for a selectman's seat. Republicans endorsed former Norfolk Lions Club Ambulance president and EMT Sandy Evans as their candidate for selectman.

The complete list of candidates who will appear on the November 7 ballot are:


  • First Selectman - William Reudgen
  • Selectman - Sandy Evans
  • Town Clerk - Linda Perkins (D) - cross endorsed 
  • Town Treasurer - Chelsea Byrne (D) - cross endorsed
  • Board of Finance - Nina Ritson
  • Board of Finance - Jeffrey Torrant
  • Board of Assessment Appeals - Colleen Gundlach
  • Board of Education - Ann DeCerbo
  • Board of Education - Jill Hall
  • Planning & Zoning Commission - Byron Tucker
  • Planning & Zoning Alternate - Marion Felton
  • Zoning Board of Appeals - Sarah A. Bruso
  • Zoning Board of Appeals - William Couch
  • Zoning Board of Appeals - Frank Trager


  • First Selectman - Matthew Riiska
  • Selectman - Susan Dyer
  • Town Clerk - Linda Perkins        
  • Town Treasurer - Chelsea Byrne
  • Board of Finance - W. Graham Allyn, Jr.
  • Board of Finance - Leo A. Groppo
  • Board of Finance Alternate - Leslie Battis
  • Board of Assessment Appeals - Walter Godlewski
  • Board of Assessment Appeals - Tara Yard
  • Board of Education - Sally Carr
  • Board of Education - Carolyn Childs
  • Planning & Zoning Commission - Tom Fahsbender
  • Planning & Zoning Commission - Paul Madore
  • Planning & Zoning Commission - Betsy Little  
  • Planning & Zoning Commission Alternate - West Lowe      
  • Zoning Board of Appeals - William Couch
  • Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate -  Peter Mulville







Follow Norfolk & Canaan HamletHub