COST Presents Town Crier Award

The Connecticut Council of Small Towns (COST), which represents 110 smaller communities throughout Connecticut, presented two lawmakers with Town Crier Awards at its annual meeting on January 16 at the Aqua Turf in Plantsville, Connecticut.

COST’s Town Crier Award was established to recognize and honor state lawmakers, municipal officials, and others who have distinguished themselves as outstanding advocates on issues affecting Connecticut’s small towns.

This year’s recipients are Sen. Kevin Witkos (R-Canton) who represents Avon, Barkhamsted, Canton, Colebrook, Granby, Hartland, Harwinton, New Hartford, Norfolk, Simsbury and Torrington; and Rep. Vincent Candelora (R-North Branford) who represents Durham, Guilford, North Branford and Wallingford.

“Sen. Witkos is a tireless champion for Connecticut’s small towns,” said Leo Paul, First Selectman of Litchfield and COST’s Past President, in presenting the award.

“His leadership and advocacy on a wide range of municipal issues has been instrumental in addressing the needs of the state’s smaller communities,” Paul added. “He has been a strong advocate for providing towns with much-needed relief from unfunded state mandates and in supporting programs that are critical to our small towns, such as the Resident State Trooper program.”

“We are honored to present Rep. Vincent Candelora with COST’s Town Crier Award,” said Tom Banisch, First Selectman of the Town of Madison and COST’s Vice President. 

“Rep. Candelora is very responsive to the needs of Connecticut’s small towns. He understands how cuts in municipal funding and burdensome unfunded mandates affect property taxpayers and the delivery of critical local services, such as education,” said Banisch. “We appreciate his longstanding commitment to fighting for Connecticut’s small towns.” 

The Connecticut Council of Small Towns (COST) is an advocacy organization committed to giving small towns a strong voice in the legislative process.


Follow Norfolk & Canaan HamletHub