Phased Re-opening of New York and Essential Benchmarks

Re-opening New York

Governor Cuomo has outlined a process for exiting NYS on PAUSE. To begin the process, 8 benchmarks must first be met; after which businesses may reopen in four separate phases; each phase is comprised of different categories of business. 


  1. 14-day decline in hospitalizations OR under 15 new hospitalizations (3-day avg) 
  2. 14-day decline in hospital deaths OR fewer than 5 deaths (3-day avg) 
  3. New Hospitalizations (under 2 per 100k residents – 3 day rolling avg) 
  4. Share of total beds available (threshold at 30%) 
  5. Share of ICU beds available (threshold of 30%) 
  6. 30 tests per 1k residents (7-day average of new tests per day) 
  7. At least 30 contact tracers per 100k residents 
  8. Metrics met across the region, and risk/reward analysis completed.

The following table shows where regions currently stand. Note: Westchester County is in the Mid-Hudson region.

Phased Reopening:

Once the Mid-Hudson region has met these benchmarks then we can begin a phased reopening. It is important to emphasize that all metrics must be met to begin the re-opening process.



Follow Rye Brook HamletHub