The Stamford Art Association and the Stamford History Center present an in person Art Exhibit "History Through the Artist's Eye" at the Stamford History Center July 1 to August 15
Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony: Sunday, July 18, 2-4 pm
The Stamford Art Association (SAA) and the Stamford History Center (SHC) have partnered to create a special event looking at the broad perspective of how history is represented in the artist's work, i.e., how an artist uses history -personal or communal - to inform their work. This juried exhibit is not focused on Stamford but about how personal memories or views and experiences influences your art. The in-person juried exhibit will be presented at the Stamford History Center, 1508 High Ridge Road, Stamford, CT. July 1 to August 15. This is a multimedia juried exhibit with cash prizes.
Reception: Sunday, July 18, 2-4 pm at Stamford History Center, 1508 High Ridge Road, Stamford, CT
The juror is Dr. Thomas A. Zoubek, President and Executive Director of the Stamford History Center for the past 20 years. Dr. Zoubek has a Ph.D in Anthropology from Yale, and has curated numerous exhibits at the Stamford History Center.
Categories: Mixed Media, Photography, Drawing, Painting, Printmaking in all styles
The Stamford Art Association was established in 1971 in a circa 1874 historical townhouse*, the Stamford Art Association is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization whose members include painters, sculptors, printmakers, photographers and multimedia artists. We host an international exhibit, the Faber Birren Color Award Show, and a High School Student Show for Fairfield County students. All artists, not just members, are welcome to submit their work for exhibits. Annual competitions draw submissions from local, regional, and national artists. The Stamford Art Association is supported by grants from the Connecticut Commission on the Arts, the City of Stamford and the Kuriansky Foundation and generous donations from individual artists and friends.
Since its inception, the SAA continues to serve the community and has grown to include students from Fairfield County High Schools with an annual exhibition. The SAA gallery is used to exhibit local and national works, providing a richness that is reflected in the variety of mediums and backgrounds of the ever changing association.
The Stamford History Center, the municipal historian of Stamford, is an educational and research institution whose primary functions are to collect, conserve, interpret, and share artifacts and information relating to greater Stamford, to engage citizens in the telling of their stories.
Vision: The Stamford History Center is dedicated to preserving regional history and our varied cultural heritage. We provide opportunities for our community to understand and experience the past through our library, the presentation of exhibits and displays, lectures, demonstrations, special events, participatory programs, and tours of the unique Hoyt-Barnum House, built in 1699.
photo credit Norm Siegal “After the Hunt (circa 1943)” 24 x 30 oil painting
Stamford History Center, 1508 High Ridge Road, Stamford, CT