Bruce Museum’s Icon Awards in the Arts Honors Art World Luminaries

The Bruce Museum in Greenwich recognized the contributions of nine distinguished figures in the art world in six categories at the eighth annual Icon Awards in the Arts ceremony on April 6, 2017. The Bruce Museum’s century-long history of excellence in presentation of art and culture in Greenwich, home to many of the country’s leading collectors and most generous patrons of the arts, positions it as uniquely suited to honor these outstanding individuals. The benefit event, co-chaired by Kathy Epstein and Susan Mahoney, was held on April 6 at the Belle Haven Club in Greenwich.

The honors went to Rick and Monica Segal, who were named Art Collectors. Their collection includes works by, among others, Richard Haas and Philip Pearlstein, who shared by this year’s award for Artists. Tapped as Art Historian was Egbert Haverkamp-Begemann, whose long career included teaching at Yale University, where Bruce Museum Executive Director Peter C. Sutton came under his tutelage, and at New York University. Additional honorees included Patrons of the Arts Deborah and Alan Simon, Leader of the Art Trade David P. Tunick, and Museum Professional Joseph J. Rishel, curator emeritus, Philadelphia Museum of Art. The benefit event was co-chaired by Kathy Epstein and Susan Mahoney.

 The Bruce Museum’s Icon Awards in the Arts is generously sponsored by JP Morgan with additional support provided by Athena Art Finance, Crozier, Guardian Life, Horseneck Wine & Liquors, and Withers Bergman.



Follow Stamford North HamletHub