Golf Performance Center's Rick Dowling Competes in Julius Boros Challenge Cup

CSGA Seeks Sixth Straight Julius Boros Challenge Cup Victory

This year at the 52nd Julius Boros Challenge Cup the Connecticut State Golf Association will be on the quest for an unprecedented sixth victory in a row. The CSGA will put their winning streak against the Connecticut Section PGA on the line on May 11 at New Haven Country Club.

Overall, the Connecticut Section PGA holds a commanding 34-17 advantage in the series but in recent years it has been the CSGA who has dominated the matches. Since 2018 when the CSGA won to snap a six-year losing streak they have won the annual matches by double digits all but once. The only exception was last year when they retained the trophy with a 40.5-31.5 triumph.

However, despite the recent success team captain Roger Everin isn’t focused on the past. “One of the things I always try to do is not dwell on the past. From my perspective, it is a new year. I don't see any value in bringing it up. The players all know what is at stake so it is best if they just go out and play.”


This year the CSGA roster is a veteran group with 11 players who have played in the event before, including nine who were on the team last year. Of the five rookies – Mark Eells, Anthony Guerrera, Arthur Ouimet, Craig Platt, and Brad Tilley – all but one have played on a CSGA team before. The only exception is Tilley who is one of the best mid-amateurs in the northeast.

In contrast to the event rookies, the CSGA roster includes two players who have been competing in the event for a combined 85 years. 2023 will mark the 47th time that Dave Szewczul has represented the CSGA while it will be the 38th time that Bill Hermanson has competed in the event.

“I always tell the players to concentrate on the things that got them on the team,” Everin said. “Not to get caught up in the moment and about winning. This is familiar territory for all of them and if they play like any other tournament they will do fine.”

The experience on the CSGA roster is not limited to the competitors it also extends to their captain. Everin is embarking on this seventh year as the team captain of the CSGA surpassing the mark set by Jerry Courville, Sr.

“I’m very proud of that,” expressed Everin. “I always thought it would be two years and out. But I love the experience of being with the players and going to the tournaments. I love watching the players compete against each other at the tournaments.”

On Thursday, May 11 Everin won’t be watching his players compete against each other. Rather he will be watching them compete together against the Connecticut Section PGA on a quest to win a sixth straight Julius Boros Challenge Cup. The 52nd edition of the event will begin at 9:30 a.m. with matches slated to go off Nos. 1 and 10.

CSGA Roster: Eric Bleile (EClub of Connecticut), Ben Conroy (New Haven CC), Nick Cook (Tashua Knolls GC), Ben Day (New Haven CC), Richard Dowling (Golf Performance Center), Mark Eells (Blackledge CC), Anthony Guerrera (Watertown GC), Arthur Ouimet (EClub of Connecticut), Cody Paladino (Hartford GC), James Sheltman (Wallingford CC), Brad Tilley (Brooklawn CC), Peter Tomlinson (Orange Hills CC), Bill Hermanson (Black Hall Club)*, Craig Platt (Mill River CC)*, Richard Stevens (EClub of Connecticut)*, Dave Szewczul (TPC River Highlands)*

Captain: Roger Everin

*Denotes Senior Player

Connecticut Section PGA Roster: William Wallis (New Haven CC), CJ Konkowski (Hartford GC), Chris Tallman (Greathorse), William Street (Whitney Farms GC), Adam D'Amario (Indian Hill CC), Brian Keiser (Longmeadow CC), Jordan Gosler (Manchester CC), Marc Bayram (Timberlin GC), Michael Jezierski (Raceway GC), Brad Lusenhop (CC of Waterbury), Kevin Mahaffy (Pequabuck GC), Jeff DelRosso (Prospect Golf), Fran Marrello (PGA Life Member)*, Rick Fleury (PGA Life Member)*, Jason Gobleck (Lyman Orchards GC)*, Mike Martin (Tashua Knolls GC)*

Captain: Howie Friday (Honorary President/Stanley GC)

Honorary Captain: Dennis Coscina (PGA Life Member)

*Denotes Senior Player

Format: Play will begin at 9:30 a.m. with matches going off both sides. Players will compete in teams of two, with individual matches played simultaneously. Each match, team, and individual is worth three points, one for the first nine, one for the second nine, and one overall. Nine points are at stake in each foursome. The teams compete for the Julius Boros Trophy, donated by Boros, the former PGA and U.S. Open champion who hailed from Connecticut. The members of the professional team qualify by finishing among the top eight in the section PGA Player of the Year point standings and the top four seniors in the section Senior PGA Player of the Year point standings. Also joining the team is the reigning Connecticut PGA Champion, the PGA Professional from the host club, and two captain’s selections. Members of the amateur side, in both regular and senior categories, likewise earn points in a Player of the Year competition and are chosen accordingly. All points were earned in 2022.

Submitted by Westport, CT

Become a Local Voice in Your Community!

HamletHub invites you to contribute stories, events, and more to keep your neighbors informed and connected.

Read Next