Westport Residents are Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program

Today officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced the names of more than 16,000 Semifinalists in the 69th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Congratulations to the following Westport residents who achieved this honor! 


Ian Y. Chow, 
Luyao Z. Guo, 
Dimitrios X. Zhao


Emerson Briggs
Leigh M. Foran
Dania A. Hemdan
Peter Loranger
Ellen Ou
Surya K. Rao
Jameson Russell
Ella Tobben
Elizabeth Turner
Darren Weng
Gabriel Weng

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,140 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 320 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence. 

Learn more here



Follow Westport HamletHub